Westbank Library

1309 Westbank Dr Austin, TX 78746 · Map it!

Laura Bush Community Library

9411 Bee Cave Rd Austin, TX 78746 · Map it!
Board of Trustees 2017-07-02T13:36:21+00:00

Board of Trustees

Members of the Board of Trustees are elected for 2-year terms, and their service is uncompensated. The Board does not manage the library, but they do hire and evaluate the library director who oversees the operations of the library. The Trustees support the staff and director, oversee finances, approve policies and strategic plans, participate in PR and fundraising, and meet regularly in public to make decisions for the library as required. Our Trustees are upstanding members of the community who believe that an excellent library is central to a strong and vibrant community. Anyone who lives within the district and is a registered voter may run for election to the Board.

Lyle Thormann
Lyle ThormannPresident
I started out as a volunteer in circulation, was involved with the Friends group and served as President for a few years. I really started learning about the workings of the library when I worked as a substitute circulation manager. I was then elected to the Board of Trustees and was the fundraising chair for our fabulous, “Laura’s Library”. I have continued to be amazed at how well loved the Westbank Libraries are by our community. We are very lucky to have an amazing staff and director, that are striving to guide us through the changes that are coming to libraries in the future. I am now the President of the Board of Trustees, and I look forward to seeing what is coming as we move forward in this changing world.
David Oertel
David OertelVice President
David lives with his wife Megan and his two young children, Will and Ruby, on the west end of the Westbank Library district, near Laura’s Library where he often takes his children to storytime. David is the conductor of the Austin Philharmonic Orchestra, the Starlight Symphony, and the Austin Flute Choir. He is also a professional photographer who is responsible for our wonderful online library tours on Google.
Leslie Davis
Leslie DavisSecretary
Leslie Davis is a long-time neighbor and user of the library. She has been active in the Rollingwood City Council, and serves on the Rollingwood Neighborhood Association. Leslie joined the board becasue she was raised on the idea of libraries as an essential part of the community. her father, a German immigrant, perfected his English reading library books on the subway. “He’s probably one of the the best-read American’s I’ve ever met, and it’s all due to the American public library system.”
Fred Drewe
Fred DreweTrustee
Fred Drewe has lived in the Eanes Independent School District since 1991. Fred has a PHD in Biochemistry and retired as a Protein Chemist in the Clinical Diagnostic market. Fred frequents both libraries often for computer use, books and tech help. Fred looks forward to working with the Board of Trustees and welcomes the opportunity to give back to the library for the library has given him over the years.
Todd Crickmer
Todd CrickmerTrustee
Todd joined the Board of Trustees in early 2017. He has demonstrated a commitment to this community through many years of volunteerism in booster clubs, local professional associations, Boy Scouts, the CE-Bar Fire Department, and the library. Todd is a CPA who brings accounting skills to oversight of library finances.